Posted by: Heather A. | July 14, 2009

Home Sweet Home

I just returned from a 10-day trip/vacation to my hometown.  My husband was out of town for most of that time, so I packed up the boys, the dog, and the hermit crab and went to visit parents, grandparents, cousins, and old/older friends (in terms of length of friendship, not age!).  We had a great time, doing something with the boys every day — so much that I think I need some down time to recover.  I wouldn’t trade the time I got to spend with my godmother and her family, with my 94-year-old adopted grandmother, with friends I haven’t seen in too long who now have kids the same age as mine (double bonus — Mommy visits, kids play with new friends!).

And yet…

Pulling into our garage yesterday afternoon was the best feeling in the world.

Yes, I was tired.  Yes, I was ready to stop living out of a suitcase.  But more than that, there’s just something about coming HOME…even from a place I used to call by that name.   MY bed, MY office, MY kitchen, MY washer & dryer (oops, hold on, gotta go change the laundry…).  There’s a peace here that I don’t find in my many travels for business and pleasure, and for that I’m truly grateful.

Dorothy was right.  There really is no place like home.

Someone please remind me of that tomorrow, okay? 🙂

Responses

  1. So glad you arrived home safely! I am so glad that we got to see each other and the boys thought that it was so cool that they met 2 other boys that were the exact same age as them! They said next time, David and Aidan have to come over and play with their toys, so the inviation is always open! Can’t wait until your next visit and maybe will have to drive up there for a long weekend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

