Posted by: Heather A. | July 18, 2009

Husband at World Series of Poker

In keeping with the “random” nature of this blog, I present to you my husband’s VERY detailed account of his play on Day 2 of the 2009 World Series of Poker: http://docs.google.com/View?id=dfz6zr99_1cv7d8kgf

A little background: Last year, my husband played in a poker tournament where the prize was a seat at the 2008 World Series of Poker Main Event (No Limit Texas Hold ‘Em).   He did quite well, placing 341st out of 6,844 people who entered.  This year, he again won a seat at the main event, as did his best friend.  Although he didn’t finish as well this time, he still had a great time playing in a game few ever get to experience.  On day 2 he kept a detailed journal of his play and wrote it up when he returned home.  If you’re interested in poker (or maybe even if you aren’t!), it’s an interesting look at what kind of thought and skill goes into a game that many outsiders believe is sheer luck.

So, not really a “mom” post this time, just a proud wife.  Thanks for indulging me.

Responses

  1. I loved your husband’s recap of the WSOP. I was there for many days of the WSOP. I detest when people think it’s all luck and no skill. It’s hard to explain to people. I sent your hubby’s recap to a few uninformed people who think they know all about poker and how it really works based on what they see on TV lol Congrats to him on doing well.

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I know exactly how you feel. We both play, but he STUDIES. I’m so proud of how well he’s done.


Leave a Reply

Categories

