Posted by: Heather A. | July 26, 2009

Re-reading the Wheel of Time

I meant to, really I did.  Almost 10 years ago one of my best friends got me hooked on Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, starting with The Eye of the World.  Fantastic books, if a bit (okay, A LOT) wordy at times.  So far there have been 11 novels and 1 prequel, and I’ve devoured each and every one.  Unfortunately, Mr. Jordan died in 2007 without finishing the series.  Brandon Sanderson will be finishing the series in Jordan’s stead (you can read about that here).

Which brings me to my thwarted plan to re-read the series in preparation for book #12.

To say I’m an avid reader doesn’t even begin to cover it.  I ALWAYS have a book with me.  I chain read, and I usually have more than one book going at a time.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE reading my favorite series over and over again: Raymond E. Feist, Harry Potter, Twilight, Robin D. Owens (currently re-reading her Heart series right now, in fact!).  So, since it’s been almost 4 years since I read book #11, I figured now would be a great time to enjoy Jordan’s world all over again.

Or maybe not.

A funny thing happened when I picked up the first book.  I read page 1 and then literally couldn’t make myself turn the page.  I felt the sheer weight of the 11 books and 9516 pages crashing down on me, and thought, “I can’t do this”.  That’s never happened to me before. I can always read a favorite book again. But at this point in time, I can’t read The Eye of the World or the 9,000 pages that follow.  I don’t know why, it just isn’t the right time.

For some reason I felt guilty until I talked to that same friend who first introduced me to the series (the same friend with whom I was supposed to be re-reading it).  And you know, he had the same experience.  Weird, huh?

So now we’re going to be grateful for online summaries like the re-read that Tor is sponsoring here.  I figure I can follow along and then read book #11.  That will be enough.  If you’re a Jordan fan who just can’t make yourself read 9,000+ pages over again before November, maybe it will be for you too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

