Posted by: Heather A. | April 2, 2010

Good Friday

Below is the text of a note I posted to Facebook last Good Friday.  There are a couple of reasons I’m posting it here today:

1. I didn’t have a blog at the time. In fact, this was probably the moment I can look back and point to as being the impetus for starting Storming the Castle.

2. I love love LOVE this story, and I want to “preserve” it for the boys.

3. I’m too slammed with work to come up with a new post for Good Friday 2010.

So there, being totally honest, that’s why I’m posting it here today.  I hope it blesses you on this, the most precious 3 days in the Christian calendar.

__________________________________________________________

Mommy, the Boys, and Good Friday 2009
April 10, 2009 (D was 4 years old, A was 3 years old)

As I put the boys to bed tonight, we talked about what today means. I told them, “Today is Good Friday. That’s the day we remember that Jesus died for us.” D replied immediately, “And then He rose again!”

“That’s right,” I said. “He came back to life on Easter Sunday.”

“Mommy, do you know what the bad people did to Jesus?” A asked. “They put nails in him and they said bad things to him.”

D: “Yeah, like DUMB.” (LOL!)

D: “But then he came back to life and someone took Him up to Heaven.”

A: “The ANGELS took him to Heaven!” (You have to imagine this said with all the exasperation that only a 3-year-old can have for his older brother!)

I asked them if they wanted to pray with me. A said he would if I told him what to say, so together we said “Dear Lord, I love you. Amen.” (I really want him not to be scared to pray out loud, and he’s a little shy sometimes, so we keep it simple.)

D said he wanted to talk to God himself, so I bowed my head and waited to hear what he would say.

“I love you, God, and I’m sorry the bad people put needles in you. And thank you for the seeds and the water for the plants and the flowers. I love you SOOOO much, and I love my family. Amen.”

It was a few seconds before I trusted myself to speak. Don’t ever doubt that a 4-year-old can understand what’s important. They understand better than we do sometimes.

Thank you, Lord, for my beautiful boys.

Responses

  1. I love this so much! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Those are MY godchildren. Just sayin’.

    May their understanding continue to grow.

  3. Sometimes the purity of children can be overwhelming, can it not?

    Happy, Holy Easter to you and yours, my friend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

